How to Permanently Deactivate Your Shopify Store in 5 Simple Steps
For one reason or another, you may want to delete your Shopify store permanently. This can be done in 5 easy steps.
Updated July 4, 2023.
Whether your online sales numbers are dropping or you can't keep up with managing multiple Shopify stores, you may be considering canceling or deactivating your Shopify store.
Unless you're working on a development store, you can quickly and permanently close your Shopify account in 5 easy steps.
Before you move on, however, you should consider closing third-party subscriptions, transferring your custom domain (if applicable), and backup your database by exporting it as a CSV file.
5 Steps to Delete Your Shopify Store Permanently
To permanently cancel and delete your Shopify store:
- Log into your Shopify Admin and navigate to Settings > Plan.
- Select Close Store, and when asked if you want to sell or close your store, select Close Store again.
- Enter your password in the text box and click Confirm.
- From the drop-down menu, select a reason for closing your store.
- Click Close my store.
If you change your mind after deleting your store, Shopify will save your store and all your data for 30 days, which allows you to reactivate it if needed.
» Consider pausing your Shopify store first to assess your situation
Closing Up Shop
Inventory management issues across multiple stores, slacking sales, or domain migration are a few reasons you may want to close your Shopify store. Providing you cancel all your prescriptions and are up to date with payments, this can be done in minutes and reversed if needed.
Bulk Inventory Management: Weighing the Pros & Cons
3 Easy Ways to Find Your Product Variant ID in Shopify